With over 1,375 rivers and streams, and more than 360 lakes, New jersey is a good place to be if you’re an angler. New Jersey has the jackpot of all your favorite fish, including trout, bass, and crappies. However, New Jersey does have a pretty hefty fine for breaking any of their rules and regulations regarding their fishing license, which guess what? New Jersey’s fishing licenses and fishing regulations is the topic of this article.

New Jersey Fishing Regulations

The state of New Jersey states:

  • You may not fish within 100 feet of any fish ladder entrance or exit from March 1 through June 30
  • You may not spear fish in fresh waters (there are some exceptions)
  • You may not possess a fishing tool with more than nine hooks in total, or more than three treble hooks (there are some exceptions)
  • You may not use set lines
  • You may not use cast nets in freshwater lakes or trout stocked waters (there are some exceptions)
  • You may not foul hook or snag any species of fish (this doesn’t apply to ice fishing)
  • To stock fish or fish eggs into any waters of the state, public or private, at any time it is required that you have a permit

Fishing License Period

New Jersey fishing licenses are available as:

  • Daily fishing licenses
  • Annual fishing license
  • Lifetime fishing licenses

Extra Licensing Fees

New Jersey requires a special stamp to fish for trout.

Free or Reduced Fee New Jersey Fishing Licenses

The State of New Jersey offers free fishing licenses or reduced fishing licenses for :

  • New Jersey National Guard personnel
  • New Jersey resident veterans with a service-connected disability.
  • New Jersey residents afflicted with total blindness
  • Active US Military are entitled to fish with a resident fishing license
  • New Jersey residents 70 years of age or older can have a free license
  • New Jersey residents 65-69 years of age can have a discounted license

New Jersey Fishing Licenses Are NOT Required For

Good news for all you fishermen under the age of 16, whether you’re a New Jersey resident or not, you aren’t required to have a fishing license.

Buy a New Jersey Fishing License