If you’re a fly fisherman, you’re likely checking out some of Colorados beautiful streams. After all, Colorado is famous for its river and stream fishing. CO’s state fish is the Cutthroat Trout, but you better be careful not to take too many of those Cutties or you’ll be at risk for a hefty fine for not adhering to the Colorado fishing regulations.

Colorado Fishing Regulations

The State of Colorado states:

  • You may only use one fishing rod in the state of Colorado (you may purchase additional rod stickers)
  • Daily bag limits for Colorado fish species:
    • Trout are limited to 4/day
    • Salmon are limited to 4/day
    • Walleye are limited to 5/day
    • Bass are limited to 5/day
    • Panfish are limited to 20/day
    • Crappie are limited to 20/day
    • Catfish are limited to 10/day

Fishing License Period

Colorado fishing licenses are available as:

  • 1-day fishing licenses (with the ability to add a day if needed)
  • Annual fishing licenses
  • 3-Year fishing licenses
  • Lifetime fishing licenses

Free or Reduced Fee Colorado Fishing Licenses

The State of Colorado offers free fishing licenses or reduced fishing licenses for :

  • Colorado residents who are completely as well as permanently disabled
  • Colorado residents who are disabled veterans
  • Colorado residents who are Purple Heart recipients

Colorado Fishing Licenses are NOT Required For

Guess what, for those of you who fit any of these descriptions you don’t have to have a license to fish in the lovely state of Colorado:

  • Fishermen under the age of 16, whether they are Colorado residents or not
  • Colorado residents on active duty with U.S. Armed Forces out of state may fish without a license while on a temporary leave (up to 30 day a year)

Buy a Colorado Fishing License