Florida is a large state with abundant fishing opportunities, both saltwater fishing and freshwater fishing. The fine state of Florida makes it easy and cost effective to get out on the water with the fishing license you need to do so legally. Florida offers many options including a lifetime fishing license for those who wish to enjoy the bounties of the water throughout their lives.
Remember: Everyone who casts a line in Florida MUST have a valid fishing license!
Florida Fishing Regulations
Florida residents and visitors must possess a valid Florida freshwater fishing or saltwater fishing license when fishing – whether you cast a line or catch and release, you require a Florida fishing license. This includes the Florida-resident annual saltwater shorelines fishing license that is provided at no cost.
Fishing License Period
Florida fishing licenses are available for freshwater fishing or saltwater fishing, and are available as:
- 3-Day fishing permits
- 7-Day fishing permits
- 1 Year fishing permits
- 5 Year fishing permits
- Lifetime fishing permits
Extra Licensing Fees
Some fish species require additional fishing permits to fish. These species are some of those which require a special license to fish:
- Spiny Lobster
Free or Reduced Fee Florida Fishing Licenses
On Florida’s License-Free Fishing Days the fishing license requirement is waived for all recreational fishermen, regardless of their residence in Florida.
The License-Free Freshwater Fishing Days are:
- The first Saturday and Sunday in April of each year
- The second consecutive Saturday and Sunday in June of each year
The License-Free Saltwater Fishing Days are:
- The first consecutive Saturday and Sunday in June of each year
- The first Saturday in September of each year
- The Saturday following Thanksgiving of each year
Florida Fishing Licenses are NOT Required For
Florida offers its residents a great number of ways to enjoy fishing without permits and tags. Here’s a list of those.
- Anyone fishing freshwater during the License-Free Fishing Days
- A fishermen under 16 years of age (resident or non-resident)
- A fishermen who is a Florida resident, and is 65 years old or older (must have proof of age and residency)
- A freshwater fishermen who is fishing in their county of residence on their homestead (or the homestead of your spouse or minor child), or a minor child freshwater fishing or hunting on the homestead of a parent
- A fishermen who is a resident of Florida, and who are certified as permanently disabled
- Florida residents who are active members of the Armed Forces , who are not stationed in this state and home on leave for 30 days or less
- People who are observing or filming someone else who is fishing (must not be assisting in any way)
- Individuals fishing in a pond of 20 acres or larger, whose owner has purchased the required fish pond license
- People fishing in a fish pond of 20 acres or smaller which is located entirely within the private property of its owner
- A fishermen who is a developmentally disabled person (restrictions apply and conditions must be met_